Skip to content

Stafford County – “Simply the Best”

September 25, 2013

Self Portrait 2In many ways a person’s life is somewhat like a story book. You have the introduction, followed by the body, followed by the closing.

The chapters within the three sections will likely be different. And that word different is an understatement for describing the past few weeks in my book.

At one point it looked as though I was going to be unemployed for the first time in my life. Then it looked as though things would be worked out. Then maybe they wouldn’t. Then it was back to hopeful again.

The hope only happened because a number of people cared enough to support me. That support was something few people get to experience in their life time.

Just as it seemed like things were settling back to normal, I got a call last week from a representative from the City of Eldorado. They wanted to interview me for their fire chief opening.

As you might recall, I submitted my resignation at two Commissioner’s meetings, despite the incredible support, because my head told me it was the best thing to do. When given the chance – twice – to stay, my heart convinced my head to rescind my resignation.

I might add that the thought of being unemployed might have also helped the heart override the head. And, you can probably guess where this is going.

I was offered and accepted the position of Eldorado Fire Chief. My last day as Stafford County Emergency Service Director will be October 11th.

I have offered to assist Stafford County not just up to this date – I have offered to assist Stafford County “long distance”, in whatever way I can, for the rest of my life.

The Stafford County chapters in my life book will be some of my “Most Treasured.”

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to be a part of your book.

God Speed, I love you all.

Stafford County – Simply the Best!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim @ Kim's County Line permalink
    September 25, 2013 3:10 pm

    Sorry to hear that, but we wish you the best. Thanks for your service to Stafford County.

  2. Melissa moody permalink
    September 25, 2013 3:45 pm

    I hope you will be happy there! Love you !!!

  3. Joan permalink
    September 25, 2013 4:23 pm

    You’ve left this county EMS and Fire services in better shape than when you found it. You are going to be a tough act to follow. Know you’ve done your best and leave a legacy behind to be proud of. You will be missed by many that know you personally and professionally. Best of luck in the future and El Dorado is getting one of Stafford County’s best. We wish you and Rosie much happiness and success in your new adventure.

  4. Marlo Tangney permalink
    September 25, 2013 4:55 pm

    So sorry to hear that, you’ve done so much for Stafford County! Thank you for taking care of everyone there 🙂 Good luck in your future endeavors!

  5. Ginger Sanders permalink
    September 25, 2013 5:39 pm

    I am heartbroken to hear this. I am so angry that this ugly mess was even allowed to start, let alone fester to this point. I knew deep down that this would eventually be the outcome because you are too good to be treated like this. You are making the right choice for yourself and you did the best you could for our county. As Joan said, you left the county far better off than when you arrived and you have nothing to regret, You will be a hard act to follow. I only hope that no one else finds themselves in a critical state with Life Watch unable to fly in. You saved my life twice that way and for that I will be forever grateful. We don’t often get to say thank you to the right people but to you, Steve Moody, I say a heartfelt THANK YOU!

    • September 25, 2013 10:54 pm

      Ginger, I had the time of my life in Stafford County. I will never forget the love that we were shown. It was an honor to have served the fine citizens of this county.

  6. Anonymous permalink
    September 25, 2013 8:47 pm

    Steve, you and Rosie will be missed, not only for the work you have done for Stafford County, but also as members of this community. Good luck in your new endeavors and God Bless you both!

  7. Anonymous permalink
    September 25, 2013 10:21 pm

    I need to grow a mustache. God Speed good friend. jlw

  8. Debbie Wheat permalink
    September 26, 2013 12:00 am

    Good luck to you Steve! I believe that change is good! It makes for a much thicker book as well as a much more interesting story! El Dorado will be lucky to have you. Love and miss you guys!

  9. September 26, 2013 12:04 am

    I enjoyed working with U. U brought so much to us and U will be very hard to replace.

    • September 27, 2013 12:44 am

      Thank you Terry. It was a pleasure to work with you and the many others.

  10. Lupe Hudson permalink
    September 26, 2013 2:47 am

    Wishing you the best Steve and Rosie! You will definitely be missed around here. Thank you for everything you have done for this county. I have some dear friends in El Dorado and a nephew who attends college there. Misty, Jorja and I will have to make a road trip, when she has a day off. God Bless you both.

    • September 27, 2013 12:48 am

      Lupe, We put a bid in on a house that is PERFECT for visitors. You MUST come visit us.

      I know that you know, but I will say it anyhow: I think the absolute world of your daughter. If I had ever had a daughter myself – I would have hoped that she was exactly like Misty.

      You raised a superstar!

  11. Anonymous permalink
    September 28, 2013 1:34 pm

    Good luck Steve and Rosie hope you enjoy it there and may God bless you both I enjoyed working with you thanks for all you did for all of us in Stafford County.

    • Anonymous permalink
      September 28, 2013 1:35 pm

      This comment was from Lou

      • September 30, 2013 6:51 pm

        Thank you Lou. It was a pleasure to work with you.

Leave a Reply

