Skip to content

Rolling in the Deep – Avoid When Giving Blood

June 16, 2012

The first thing I noticed when walking into the room was the young lady laying on a cot with a couple white, moistened towels on her forehead – feet elevated high in the air. I should have acknowledged the omen, turned 180 degrees and left quietly. I didn’t.

It was a Red Cross blood drive for heaven’s sake. Bad things don’t happen at good will events – do they?

I can honestly say the Gibson Guitar giveaway, the free t-shirt, or the wonderful smelling Sloppy Joes had absolutely nothing to do with my attendance. Okay, so the Joe aroma might have been what overcame my better judgement.

So, I marched forward – zipping through the questions like the seasoned blood donor that I am. Then I was led to the cot – right next to the young lady still receiving reaction treatment.

I’m a frequent blood donor, but not a particularly brave one – so I plugged in my IPhone ear jacks and tuned in Adele’s “Rolling in the Deep.” I never look at the needle entry, but something made me glance over. It appeared that the old fellow was marking my arm vein about an inch to the side of my monstrously engorged blood vessel.

“You’ll feel a sting and then a burning sensation throughout the donation.” That was his message.

And sting and burn it did. Then an adjustment. Then another adjustment. Then another adjustment. Things didn’t look good.

Maybe if I switch tunes. I changed to Adele’s “Set Fire to the Rain.” It didn’t help.

The old fellow disappeared and a new needle adjuster came to my attendance. More adjustment would be necessary. Only I wasn’t in the adjustment mood any longer.

I’m not sure about future blood donations, but if so there’ll be strict avoidance of Adele tunes and cross-eyed phlebotomists.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    June 16, 2012 4:28 am

    That doesn’t sound like a routine blood donation!

    • Anonymous permalink
      June 16, 2012 2:36 pm

      It wasn’t a routine one for me. I’ve given blood since I was in high school and this is only the second time they have ever missed hitting the vein. The other time was a brand new person and she just pushed too deep and went through it. This fellow was in very bad physical shape having to periodically lean on the cart. Apparently his vision was also a bit askew.

  2. Anonymous permalink
    June 16, 2012 6:49 pm

    They wanted me to go, I forgot all about it, now I am glad I missed this blood letting affair.

    • Anonymous permalink
      June 16, 2012 7:45 pm

      I would make sure there’s somebody there that you know and have had good luck with in the past. I did a little research – afterwards – and found some articles that criticized the Red Cross for their hiring practices.

      The marks my fellow made on my arm and the needle hole are nowhere near either of my very large arm veins. One would have to have some vision problems to not see either of them clearly.

      Once when I was the coordinator for a drive in Salina they sent me a letter several weeks later and told me that my blood tested positive for gonorrhea. Their first explanation when I called was to not worry because they only use a cheap testing process.

      I asked why they didn’t perform the more costly one when they get a positive so they could be sure before alarming the donor. I’m told that many people have gone through costly testing procedures only to find out there was nothing wrong.

      Anyway, their only explanation was that it was just too expensive to do more testing. Oh, and I was excluded from being a donor for 2 years. I talked to a lot of people about their policies and was told they would look into making improvements.

      I did get affirmation that no more communicable disease notifications would go out via the mail service.

Leave a Reply

