Skip to content

A Trip to Work

February 27, 2012

Early last week I was driving down Old Highway 50, on my way to work in St. John, when I saw what appeared to be three small children crossing the highway at breakneck speed. My first thought was, “What are these lunatic kids running around outside town when they should be settling into their chairs at school?”

It’s amazing what one might see on their way to work in Stafford County. It might be a red fox, a pheasant, six deer, or simply a beautiful sunset. We often fail to appreciate these wonderful experiences. People in urban cities can live their entire lives and never see what we experience in one trip to work.

But, kids running across the blacktop highway, on a Tuesday morning, isn’t one of the sights you see – not in Stafford County.

So, I eased my foot off the Ford Escape accelerator. And, as I rolled ever closer to the crossing point, I noticed two of the children had already cleared the roadway. There was only one left and he too was high-topping it.

Then, he leaped up into the air!

It was at that point that I saw the boy wasn’t wearing any shoes. And he wasn’t wearing a shirt, or pants. Heck, it wasn’t even a boy, or a girl. No, it was simply a famous Stafford County Tumbleweed.

Tumbleweeds are another amazing sight that you might see on a trip to work in Stafford County. And, by the time I returned home at the end of work on this particular day, the wind had changed 180 degrees in direction.

And, the children were running across the highway again – just in the opposite direction.

Tumbling Tumbleweeds – thanks for the show!

Tumbling Tumbleweeds

See them tumbling down
Pledging their love to the ground
Lonely but free I’ll be found
Drifting along with a tumbling tumbleweed

I’m a rovin’ cowboy ridin’ all day long
Tumbleweeds around me sing their lonely song
Nights underneath the prairie moon
I’ll ride alomg and sing a tune

See then tumbling down
Pledging their love to the ground
Lonely but free I’ll be found
Drifting along with a tumbling tumbleweed

Cares of the past are behind
Nowhere to go but I’ll find
Just where the trail will wind
Drifting along with a tumbling tumbleweed

I know when night is gone
That a new world’s born at dawn

I’ll keep rolling along
Deep in my heart is a song
Here on the range I belong
Drifting along with a tumbling tumbleweed

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

