Skip to content

Thanksgiving and the Island of Misfit Toys

November 25, 2011

The other day my wife and I were sitting on the front porch enjoying what I called the “Perfect Day.” Just then my wife noticed the tiniest cloud drifting across the completely blue sky. I turned to my wife and said, “Almost Perfect.”

It was a joke.

Imperfections are really what make life so special. And that is what I’m thankful for on this day of Thanksgiving. Let me explain.

One of my favorite holiday movies is the low-budget film “Rudolph the Red-nosed Reindeer and the Island of Misfit Toys.”

I suppose a reason for my connection is my own imperfections. One happened when I was a child. I contracted polio and was severely affected on the right side of my body. Most noticeable is my right leg that’s one and one-half inches shorter.

Anyhow, the movie begins by drawing attention to the shameful treatment doled out to those who are different from the rest of the crowd.

Rudolph meets up with an elf named Hermey. Both Rudolph and Hermey are misfits. The two run away from home and end up on the Island of Unwanted Toys.

The beauty of the show is when it concludes by showing how being different is not necessarily a bad thing, in fact it can be a wonderful thing.

We strive to be the best we can be and that’s not bad. But, sometimes in our effort to reach perfection, we lose sight of how an imperfection can also be special.

I hope Americans take the time to watch this short movie. And, afterwards, ask yourself if you need to do a little bit better at seeing the good in those who are a bit different.

It might even make you happier – and thankful.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

