Skip to content

My Champions

May 29, 2011

It seems appropriate to talk about Champions on Memorial Day. Before I share with you some of my champions, let us pause and remember the Champions of Champions – those who Memorial Day was established – our military who have died in our nation’s service.

In no particular order, let me start with our citizens. Without your tax dollars we couldn’t purchase the equipment, tools, and supplies emergency responders need. I know how many people are suffering financially. Stafford County is fortunate to have citizens who have even stepped up and made additional purchases. A full complement of rescue tools is one example – the name of the tools? Champion. I appreciate your sacrifice. You are my Champions.

Next on my list are our political leaders. You are the gatekeepers to spending the citizen’s dollars. Rarely do we know the variables our political leaders face when they make decisions. Too often we pass judgment without giving due consideration for that difficulty. I appreciate your sacrifice. You are my Champions.

Emergency responders are naturally on my list. In Stafford County these men and women are volunteers. They risk their lives and wellbeing to protect yours. I’ve watched them do amazing things over the past two years – any time of the day, any day of the week. I appreciate your sacrifice. You are my Champions.

Emergency responder families conclude the list. I personally know the sacrifice emergency service worker’s families make, because I know what mine has made. Many missed graduations, birthdays, meals, and lots of sleep. Families must deal with the absence as well as the worry about their loved one’s safety. I appreciate your sacrifice. You are my Champions.

To all my Champions – I salute you!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

