Skip to content

Thanks Mom

May 9, 2011


Appreciation. It seems fitting to talk about that particular virtue on this special day – Mother’s Day – since there’s no one person who we owe more to than our mothers. So, here goes.

My mother was the oldest girl in a family of fifteen children. Every picture I’ve seen of her as a child include her holding one of her siblings. It’s clear that she was a “working child.”

The tough life didn’t end when my mother married. My father died from an on-the-job injury when I was three years old and my brother was four.

Yet, I cannot remember my mother every complaining about her plight. Never.

She provided us everything we needed. She had to have shorted herself to do that. No bitterness.

Nowadays, there are many folks who have complaint after complaint about their upbringing. I have none. Only appreciation.

Thanks Mom.

One Comment leave one →
  1. deb permalink
    May 13, 2014 1:36 am

    Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

